The Great Trade


But Jesus, what you’ve told us, it can’t be done.
No, no one is righteous, not even one.
What can we do to earn your reward?
What you require, its just too hard.
Who can fulfill your every command?
It can’t be accomplished by a mere mortal man!

Jesus replied: “you can’t. But I can.
I’ll open the door to the promised land.
I’ll live the life you cannot live.
I’ll give the death you cannot give.
I’ll conquer death. I’ll conquer sin.
So take my hand; I’ll let you in.”

© Dr. Phil Bryant

4 Comments

Filed under Poetic Perspectives

4 responses to “The Great Trade

  1. Pingback: The Great Trade — Author’s Reflection | managementdocandpoet

  2. Thanks for the “like”, Brad. Five minutes a day, huh? Intrigued, I am.

  3. Thanks, Angels, for the like.
    This is a short excerpt from “The Greatest of Sermons.”
    https://managementdocandpoet.wordpress.com/2012/06/26/the-greatest-of-sermons/

  4. Thanks, Dog, for the “Like.”

Leave a Reply

