This Dark Valley


My sorrowful path, a deep,
destructive trench I’ve dug
over years of habit
and rebellion.

So deep, so dark,
so very steep are its
suffocating bounds
on either side.

Though I know the end
of this trench is death
I cannot climb out
on my own.

O fount of life, though
this dark valley is no
place for you, descend into
this trench.

O life giving river, though
against your very being
I implore you to flood
this ditch.

That I may ascend
forever above this
dark, habitual path
of destruction,

And travel a new path,
a new way, the way
of life and the way
of light.

© Dr. Phil Bryant

2 Comments

Filed under Poetic Perspectives

2 responses to “This Dark Valley

  1. angels2send

    beautiful look upward…how wonderful to know He is always looking back.

Leave a Reply

