Today I Broke 2 Deeply Held Personal Convictions


I admit it. I broke 2 deeply held personal convictions today.

Let me back up a minute. Just this Sunday our church held a going away lunch for our beloved youth pastor. There was more than enough chicken to feed the 200+ standing in line.

I don’t do food lines. [one of my many quirks and a deeply held personal conviction.]

So I jumped in my car, drove to Nathan’s, ordered a chili cheese dog and fries, drove back to the church, found my family and sat down. When others around asked. I quipped: “I don’t do food lines.” [another one of my quirks – not the world’s best at face-to-face communication]

But this morning I stood in line for food at…

You probably guessed it – Chick-fil-A. [Chick-fil-A Appreciation Day brings me to deeply held personal conviction number 2 – I don’t follow the crowd.]

Why abandon my convictions today?

2 Greater Personal Convictions:

1 – I stand for Free Enterprise and Capitalism. I stand against Fascism.

Dan Cathy, President of Chick-fil-A recently received a letter from Boston Mayor, Thomas Menino:

“I urge you to back out of your plans to locate in Boston.

I was angry to learn… about your search for a site to locate in Boston…

It would be an insult to our city’s long history…

to have a Chick-fil-A across the street…”

2 – I stand for Freedom of Speech. I stand against Suppression of Opposition and Criticism.

Dan Cathy recently stated:

“Thank the Lord, we live in a country where we can share our values and operate on biblical principles.”

In high school, I tried to stand against bullying. I messed up a couple of times and did a bit of bullying myself, but for the most part, I made a point to make friends with those being bullied, stand with them, and stand up for them when necessary. Today, I stand against bullying. Today, I stand.

© 2012, Dr. Phil Bryant

Dr. Bryant is an Assistant Professor of Management at Columbus State University and co-author of Managing Employee Turnover.

 

 

 

 

9 Comments

Filed under Phil's Philosophy

9 responses to “Today I Broke 2 Deeply Held Personal Convictions

  1. Anonymous

    Go Phil! Well said!

  2. Great blog..thanks for sharing and for standing!

  3. Leslie Cameron

    Well said, Phil!

  4. Jennifer Joyner

    Nice blog, today!

Leave a Reply

